Suspend Your Disbelief

Shop Talk |

Whiting Writers' Awards

Warm congratulations to 2009’s Whiting Award winners for poetry, fiction, and plays! These are the winners in fiction (click here for a full list of recipients):

– Adam Johnson: Emporium (Viking 2002), Parasites Like Us (Viking, 2003)
– Nami Mun: Miles from Nowhere (Riverhead 2009)
– Salvatore Scibona: The End (Graywolf 2008)
– Vu Tran: as-yet-untitled first novel is forthcoming (W.W. Norton)
emporiumparasites miles_from_nowhere the-end
In addition to the honor of receiving such a prestigious award, and the chance to be introduced by keynote speaker Margaret Atwood, these writers also received a substantial monetary prize: at $50,000, the Whiting is one of the few awards that can, without additional support, sustain a writer while he or she works on a book. New York magazine focuses on this angle in their coverage, “Broke Writers Rejoice After the 25th Whiting Awards”:

“There are actually risks to living this way,” says Salvatore Scibona, author of The End, who, before he won a Whiting last night, was scraping by. Last Sunday he totaled his used Subaru Loyale; with no anti-lock brakes or airbags, he was especially lucky to walk away. With his winnings, Scibona plans to buy a new car (one that meets all current safety standards).


Time isn’t always money for a writer, but money always buys time. In the eight years she worked on her novel Miles from Nowhere, Nami Mun — perhaps this year’s least obscure Whiting winner — supported herself as a street vendor, an Avon lady, a photojournalist, a bartender, and a criminal-defense investigator. She’ll use the money “to stay in my apartment for ten hours a day.”

Look for an interview with Nami Mun (by Greg Schutz) on FWR next week, and check out our interview with Salvatore Scibona (by Mike Hinken) from earlier this year.

Literary Partners