Suspend Your Disbelief

Shop Talk |

2008 Whiting Prize winners / recommended website: Brevity

The Whiting Prizes are annual honors bestowed on emerging writers who show “exceptional talent and promise.”

Congratulations to fiction writers Mischa Berlinski, Laleh Khadivi, Manuel Muñoz, Benjamin Percy and Lysley Tenorio. Click here to see a full list of winners.

Whiting-winning essayist Donovan Hohn got a nice shout-out from Harper’s Wyatt Mason, who invites us to make Hohn’s work our “Weekend Read.” For a sampling of exquisite “concise creative nonfiction,” FWR highly recommends a detour to a website mentioned in said shout-out, Brevity. The site also features book reviews.

Literary Partners